Auckland Council


The Auckland Council is a new model of local government for New Zealand, designed to strengthen regional leadership while providing effective local and community democracy. While the way decisions are made will change, the role of local government in Auckland remains the same.

Auckland Council has two complementary and non-hierarchical decision-making parts:

  • The governing body, consisting of a mayor elected by all Aucklanders and 20 councillors elected on a ward basis
  • 21 local boards, with members elected by local board area.

The governing body and the local boards will share the decision-making responsibilities of Auckland Council:

  • The governing body will focus on the big picture and on region-wide strategic decisions
  • Local boards will represent their local communities and make decisions on local issues, activities and facilities.

Auckland Council will deliver services through the council organisation and council-controlled organisations.

The diagram below shows the council's structure.

Image diagram: governance structure of the Auckland Council.

Auckland Council will be advised by an independent board for mana whenua and Maori of Tamaki Makaurau. The board must appoint a maximum of two persons to sit on each of Auckland Council’s committees that deal with the management and stewardship of natural and physical resource. The Auckland Council will also be advised by a Pacific advisory panel and an ethnic advisory panel.


Website investor pageAuckland Council
Corporate credit ratings(s) Standard & Poors (S&P)   AANegative